Vanagon reliability

ben

Good day to you all.
I wish to demystify the Vanagon reliability. (In that case, more specifically the 1.9-2.1 water-cooled engine)
First we are running 10-20 years old vehicles!!! That says it all! In the 90' (and still today) most manufacturer where making car and truck so they could last for about 100.000 miles, no more… (I have my sources) so running a Westy across any country but especially in Americas (long distance) is no different from running a old 86' Honda or whatever. It' an old van and if not properly maintain, you're playing with fire.

I'm an amateur mechanic (maybe not so amateur anymore), I use to rebuilt "engine heads" on motorcycle (air & water cooled) as a hobby (still do sometime) and did over 25 cars, mostly Mazda, Honda & Toyota (4 cyl. Only) for friends (I have many friends now, strange!!!). I only do engine works and mostly "heads jobs!!!" (Gasket, seal, valves and cam). So don't tell me that the heads gasket problem on the 1.9 & 2.1 are VW's problems, it's a common 4 cyl problem from the 90', most of the car I done had their head gasket change (80%), they had about 60-100k miles (100-160k-km). This is not the case of a typical type of driving/driver, all where different drivers / type /condition/women/men/automatic/manual. This is somewhat a normal problem. The Vanagon Water-cooled is no exception. I would even say that it is superior, it is underpowered and it work harder than most small 4-cylinder car (specially the camper version). So for the size of its engine/ weight, it is a very RELIABLE engine. The only special thing about the van it' is cooling system, it' damn complicated for a 4 cyl engine, with so many cooling line, junction and bleeding system. Those need replacement and frequent check-up, and that is the problem!!! Most Westy owner are "non mechanic oriented" people, not to say that they only put gas and run the van. I have an 87 GL and running on original head (heads gasket change for precaution last