The New Boards: Site bulletins, guidance, protocol and info.

imported_JohnB

Hi!

Hope everyone is enjoying the new Message Boards.

Please feel free to post as much as you wish in this section.

If you are looking for technical info don't forget to visit the archives. the link is at the top of each page.

Last edited by a moderator:

DavidVance

Congrats and praise and thanks for the new message boards. Clearly there's a slight learning curve involved, but well worth the effort. Am I correct in understanding that the archives will be uploaded into the new system? Quite the undertaking. But finally, I'll be able to search by key word--never worked for my computer before. I'm looking forward to it!

imported_JohnB

Yes, the intention is to load the archives into this board.

Unfortunately its not an easy task.
Anyone out there with experience in programming in Perl could be of great help.

John

mjrly

Great choice of Bboard, the UBB cannot be beat for the price.
I have some experience with these, as I've installed and slightly customized a few others.
Instead of the lightbulb for new posts within a forum you could find two little images of a Westy one with the headlights on and one with the headlights off.
Just push them up to the server and rename them on.gif and off.gif (I think). The directory should be ubb/images (I think)...

If you need help with the board I 'may' be able to offer some words.

Cheers,
Matthew
NC

Capt. Mike

/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif When you post a message on the technical boards about a problem, we'd like to hear the results. Often, a question prompts several suggestions & solutions. We'd like to know which it was and what worked as that will help others with similar problems.

Sometimes a guestion is asked on one board that seems logical at the time, but the solution indicates it was another problem and should be transferred to the correct forum.