LP level indicators

gwco

I recently acquired a '95 eurovan camper and my LED indicator lights always seem to indicate a full LP tank even when the tank is completely empty. I ran out of propane on an island without propane service last weekend and totally drained my aux battery to keep my fridge operating in the process. I am not sure but I think that this inaccurate LED guage is a common problem on the Eurovans. Is there anything I can do about it? I'm a complete newbie and leary of fooling around with the gas plumbing on the outside of the vehicle. Could the problem be something simple like corroded wire contacts to what appears to be the sensor module on the outside of the tank left of the overfill valve? Does anyone have any information about the operation of the LP level guages on the Eurovans?

[This message was edited by Capt. Mike on October 20, 2002 at 05:54 AM.]

Capt. Mike

Sorry for the long delay. I hadn't been able to find anything and just recently got the Eurovan manuals.

According to the Bentley, wiring diagrams X167-X172, there is no LP level indicator shown. The show indicators for the waste water tanks and several other sensors, but no LP electrical connections.

Are you sure you have an LP sensor & indicator? The older Vanagon's panel showed battery condition and fresh water tank level. It did have one other LED that showed when the fridge was on LP or DC.

Please check your owner's manual and be sure you have not misinterpreted the panel. And that any LP level indicator is factory.

Capt. Mike

willboy Junior Member posted August 06, 2002 02:39 PM

I mistakenly posted a question regarding options for a LP level gauge as a poll question. This was my first effort on the message board. I would like to get some information about the options for monitoring my LP level. I have an 86 Westy that doesn't have an LP level indicator light. Does anyone have any suggestions as to how to monitor my LP level so that I know when to refill the tank?