Binoculars, cameras, optics

Chuck (CA)

Capt Mike...you recommend Armored 8 x 30 binoculars...for those of us that arn't that familar with these...can you give us a little insight as to why you recommend these...could you also include some buying tips (dos and don'ts)...Thanks...Chuck(CA)

Capt. Mike

I'm not an expert on optics but did spend 20+ years behind a pair -- they are an essential part of the captain's gear on ship.

There are some excellent discourses on binoculars and the various definitions, features and uses. I'll save that for an expert.

What I did learn is binoculars have to be good AND convenient or they won't be used. At sea, most ships supplied 7x50 prism style. This is the classic binocular where the eye lenses don't line up with the incoming lens. They are fairly big but gather good light and have a wide angle of view. I.e. Great for scanning large areas in low light where the average target distance was miles, not feet or yards.

For camping, I recommended the 8x30 in-line. They are lighter, more compact and allow some closer detail without sacrificing light and still satisfactory field of view. Your use will probably be for animals and scenery at much closer distances. You can usually see the target with the naked eye and thus bring into line & focus -- you are not scanning for specks or little glints on the horizon 10 miles out.

Armored is the heavy rubber coating. It adds to their weather resistance and makes them far less likely to be damaged. They can be kept out of case. In fact many don't come with cases -- only lens guards.

I prefer units with individual focus on each eye-piece. Central focus adds mechanics to get out of line. Zoom binoculars become increasingly complex and thus even more fragile.