Westfalia.org Community - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Other camper options ???

Default Other camper options ???

Hi! I've been traveling for the last 14 months through the USA, Mexico and Central America on my motorcycle ('88 Kawi KLR650). I'm starting life as a graduate student in a Ph.D. program here at UC Davis (CA). I'm terrified of signing a lease, and want to remain mobile, so am toying with the idea of having a van for a home. Davis is 1-2 hours from many amazingly beautiful places, and a van would let me get out to them every weekend, as well as take some longer trips.

Soo... I've been reading this site, and love the VW vans, particularly the vanogan westies. I've seen some around Davis and they are beautiful! They also seem a bit expensive for good ones! My question is, do they have any real competiton? Are there any campers out there by Toyota and Mitsubishi? I like the reasonable size of the VW, and am turned off by the monstrous American "conversion" vans -- any reasonably sized ones out there for little money?

I'm a pretty decent mechanic, but I'm running low on cash, and would like to spend less than $5000, which seems a little low for a reliable VW. Thoughts???

Thanks,

pete

2. # ADS
    Adsense Circuit advertisement

No, the VW Westy is very unique in that it is the only 1 ton commercial chassis in the size range (15') in the US market. Other mini vans, converted or not, can't carry the weight. Read the GVWR stickers inside the door jambs of the other mini-vans. VW will be in the 5500 lb. range, which when subtracting curb weight, leaves you a ton of payload (1600 with camper equipment -- it weighs about 400 lb.)