Westfalia.org Community - Powered by vBulletin

Thread: Advice Needed

Question Advice Needed

I am new to the Westie community and so I need so information and advice before I pull the trigger on buying one. I live in Costa Rica and have seen several of these vehicles drive through here on their Pan-American Highway journey. Not only do I love the way these amazing vehicles look, new and old, but I love the versatility of these vehicles. My wife and I's plan is to purchase one in the US and then have it shipped here to CR so that when we decide to move back to the US, we can make the CR-US trip in it and enjoy our time on the way North. I am new to Westies, as I stated earlier, so I am looking for some general information on these amazing vehicles. I have read hundreds of threads on this site, but I still have a few questions based on what we are looking for. I have a budget of $10,000-$13,500 and really want to buy a Westie Camper that is in great shape, preferably factory original. I want a Westie that has either been maticusally maintained or has been refurbished to almost new. I am not looking for a ton of modifications either. I want the basic Westie in great shape, specifically the motor, so that my wife and I can make the trip North from CR. Once we arrive back in the US, our plan is to hold on to this beauty and do modifications and improvements over time. The Westie we desire has to be in great shape with a track record of maintenance. My plan is to fly home once I have found the one I love, buy it, then drive it to LA/Houston/Miami and have it shipped here to CR. So for you seasoned Westie owners and purchasers out there...here is a list of my questions.